Dear Louise,
I so wish that I had no idea what you were talking about, but unfortunately I do. Case in point, I took my daughter to ballet today. Now usually, I go to Whole Foods or sit in the library "studying" (code for being on Facebook). But today, I decided to sit in the dressing room with the other mothers. I did this mainly because one of the other moms reminds me of a Kristen Wiig character and I was hoping she would say something ridiculous. But I digress. I sat in this room with 4 other homeschool mothers and within the span of five minutes I wanted to kill myself.
They talked about grades and fancy field trips and curriculum and manners and teaching strategies and getting up early so they could cook a "well-rounded" breakfast to give their children the energy they needed to "reach their potential". And then they talked about their children's stubbornness and unwillingness to learn. Honestly, I wasn't shocked by their kids' behaviors. I mean, have they met themselves? Do they like being around themselves? Geez.
Like I said, after five minutes I was ready to commit an act of violence. Pardon my language but, Damn women, lighten up! Maybe it's just an act they put on to impress each other, but I think not. I think they believe the crap that talk on and on and on about. They teach their 7 year olds for 7 hours a day. They make them learn logic and philosophy and Latin in first grade. They push their kid to be a minimum of one grade level ahead. Whatever happened to fun?
I guarantee they haven't cranked up Barracuda or Bohemian Rhapsody in the middle of a school day for a dance off. Or skipped school to take the kids to play tennis. Or jumped out from behind a door to scare the bejeebers out of their cranky teenager. Nope. It's all soooooo serious.
Maybe I'm wrong. Maybe you're wrong. Maybe in order to be a good mother we have to push our kids to do ridiculous things and then kiss their butts by cleaning their rooms for them because we feel guilty. Maybe we should coddle and harass our kids to "excel".
But really? I would rather enjoy them. Teach them. Prepare them for college. Push them so they know they can accomplish hard things, but keep the sense of wonder and fun that makes childhood so wonderful. *sigh* I want to stay up until midnight, lying in the front yard and watching shooting stars.
Are we really all alone in thinking this way? Aren't there any other people out there who want to make homeschooling fun? Who haven't lost their sense of playfulness? Who enjoy being with their kids? Maybe there are... I wish we knew where they were!
Slightly Frustrated and More Than a Little Sleepy,
Thelma
BTW, after five minutes I excused myself and went to the library where I cruised Cakewrecks.com for a good laugh. It kept me from jumping off the proverbial ledge. lol
No comments:
Post a Comment